Anyone For Tea?

Hello Again πŸ™‚

So as well as being busy with my cross stitching projects, I also made some candles over the weekend. πŸ™‚

I was out shopping with my mum where we saw some teacup candles and she suggested I give it a go so I did. πŸ™‚ I don’t think they turned out too bad for a first attempt, I did forget to top up the wax as it hardened but oh well, I’ll remember for next time. I found the teacups andΒ saucers at a car boot fair for such a good price, I’ll deffo be going back and scouting out more fairs so that I can make more cool and interesting candles. πŸ˜€ I didn’t do anything different to what I normal do when I make candles apart from using up left over wax. I had some Yankee candles that had finished but I had some wax left over so I remelted the wax and used that, which is great as they still smell like the Yankee candles!

As well as reusing old teacups I also made a candle out of a food jar, I loved the pattern on the outside of the jar so I didn’t want to throw it away. Not sure if you can tell from the photos but the jar has shells going around it, which would make sense seeing that it muscles in it. xD I of course washed the jar out a few times so that it didn’t smell and then again I reused some left over wax. πŸ™‚

I think I’m going to practice some more with using different jars and shapes to make candles and maybe also soap too. πŸ™‚ I would like to one day be good enough to consider giving them away as presents but we shall see.

Woooo its friday tomorrow! I hope you all have a good day tomorrow and a good weekend, lets hope this nice sunny weather stays for a while! πŸ˜€

Emz xxx

7 thoughts on “Anyone For Tea?

    • emzcraftycreations says:

      When wax cools it hardens and shrinks, I don’t know if you can tell from my photos, in the middle of the candles theres a dip and the middle is lower than the outside edge because it shrinks. As the wax cools the top layer will harden before the middle so what you can do is pierce the top layer and pour more wax on top to ‘top it up’ to stop this shrinking affect and have a nice levelled candle. πŸ™‚ I hope that explains it well πŸ™‚ xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • ivyjade234 says:

        Oh yes thank you so much I have made candles before and I couldn’t understand what to do to stop the wax dipping and making air pockets in the middle. Thanks again 😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

