How To Make Soap

Hey 🙂

What a beautiful day here in Lincoln, too bad I have to stay indoors and do university work. 😦 But that won’t stop me from posting today! Yay! So today I’m going to introduce you to soap making. 🙂 Now there are several different ways you can make soap: Melt and Pour, Cold Process, Hot Process and Rebatching.

I am today going to show you how to make soap from the pre-made melt and pour material, I shall at some point have a go at making soap by the other methods but today we are keeping it simple. 🙂 Do bear 🐻 with me when it comes to soap making as I am very new to this and have only made soap once before this. I mentioned to my boyfriend sometime last year that I wanted to try my hand at soap making and so for Christmas ☃ he bought me a silicone mould, melt and pour soap base and fragrant oils so I could try and have a go.

So to start you will need the melt and pour soap base, fragrance oil, a microwave, a microwaveable jug, a sharp knife and a mould to pour your soap into. Mine is a silicone mould as it makes it easier to pop the soap out at the end when its hardened.IMG_4105

With the knife cut the soap base into chunks and place them into the jug. With time and practice you’ll work out how much is enough, for my mould I had cut out three cubes worth. Of course if you make too little you can always melt some more and add to your mould or if you make to much, pour it into another mould. Once the soap base is in jug, place the jug into the microwave and heat it in 30 second bursts.IMG_4106

IMG_4108

IMG_4109

After each 30 second burst give it a stir and then place back in the microwave until it is completely melted. Be careful as the liquid will be very hot. Keep an eye on the liquid as its melting in the microwave as you don’t want it to boil over and cause a mess.IMG_4110

IMG_4111

IMG_4112

Once the soap base is completely melted add in anything you want such as fragrances or additives like apricot, which can help the skin. I decided to add blackcurrant fragrance oil. 🙂 Once added, pour the liquid into your mould and leave it to solidify, preferably overnight in a safe place. IMG_4113

IMG_4116

IMG_4117

Once its solidified, just pop it out the mould and its ready to use straight away. 🙂 If you have trouble getting it out then it may need some more time to cool.IMG_4121

Top Tips

  1. Don’t use the same appliances that you use to cook with.
  2. Soap when heated can get extremely hot so be careful when you melt it.
  3. Keep an eye on the mixture as you melt it as it can burn if you’re not careful, it will go a yellowish-brown colour if you do.
  4. Any solid additives may fall to the bottom when you add them so wait for the soap mixture to harden to a gel like texture before you add them in.
  5. When you pour your mixture into the mould, try and pour it in the middle so that it doesn’t overfill on one side.
  6. To stop bubbles forming on the surface of your soap you can spray rubbing alcohol over it, this is not necessary though.
  7. If you’re not going to use the soap straight away, to keep it fresh wrap it in cling film.

As you can see it does look a little boring but trust me it smells amazing and it was only my second go. xD I’m hoping when I go home for Easter I’ll be able to go to hobbycraft and gather some supplies, such as dyes and additives, to spice up my soap making. And don’t you worry of course I will blog about my trip and show you what I have bought along with another post about soap making. 🙂 Thank you for reading and I hope you have a good afternoon. 🙂

Emz xxx

Leave a Reply

