How to Backstitch

Hey Guys ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m so sorry I didn’t blog yesterday and that I’m only just posting it tonight. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Uni sadly was really busy yesterday and today. Tonight’s post is the third instalment of my mini series ‘How to’ and this one is all about how to backstitch. ๐Ÿ™‚

But before I get on to that I realised that in my ‘How to start a cross stitch’ I forgot to mention how you secure the thread once you have finished with that colour and need to choose a different one or have finished overall. Its ever so easy, either slide the needle with the finished thread between the material and the stitched thread on the back of your project or secure it to the back of the material with your new coloured thread as you start stitching with the new colour. ๐Ÿ™‚

Backstitching is used to add detail and definition once all the cross stitching is complete, its normally done in black thread, in one strand, for all the details to really pop! I would say this is just as easy as doing a simple cross stitch. ๐Ÿ™‚

First of all thread your needle and secure your thread between your material and thread on the back of your project. A loop start will not work here as backstitching requires normally one strand of thread, unless stated differently in the instructions. Next bring your needle up through to the front of the material, where you want to start your backstitch outline (1).ย 

image2

Then you bring it down (2), coming back up at (3) and then you bring your needle back down into (1).ย image3

image4

image5

I know it’s a little confusing you but you just repeat that, following the backstitch outline in your design. If done right its meant to be so that each stitch is directed back towards a growing backstitch line. ๐Ÿ™‚ You may want to swap needles and use a sharper one when doing your backstitching. This is because some backstitching requires you to go between the holes in the material to add curves into the outlining.ย Sometimes backstitching can take time and may seem boring but once you start seeing your cross stitch come alive from it, you know it was worth it. ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope this was helpful, if anything is still unclear please do not wait to comment and ask me questions. I hope I’ve explained it easy enough with the use of numbering my pictures, I found it hard to explain so I thought those would help. ๐Ÿ™‚

Again sorry for not posting yesterday.

Emz xxx

 

Leave a Reply

